Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

In dash touch screen


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 brett_p

brett_p

    SS Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Name:Brett
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chalmette, LA
  • Owns:SS
  • Color:Arrival Blue
  • Year:2004
  • Drivetrain:AWD

Posted 31 January 2017 - 08:39 PM

Looking for suggestions on in dash touch screen radio. Mainly want something I can connect to and use my Bluetooth from my phone for music. Also, I want to be able to add a back up camera down the road.
  • 0

#2 matslp488

matslp488

    SS Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 141 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denver & RGV TX
  • Owns:SS
  • Color:Black
  • Year:2005
  • Drivetrain:2WD

Posted 01 February 2017 - 08:33 PM

I like my alpine ine- 940 with gps, phone connection and everything.. haven't added a rear camera though
  • 0

#3 brett_p

brett_p

    SS Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Name:Brett
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chalmette, LA
  • Owns:SS
  • Color:Arrival Blue
  • Year:2004
  • Drivetrain:AWD

Posted 01 February 2017 - 08:38 PM

Thanks for the reply, do you have the capability to add the back up camera with that unit?
  • 0

#4 matslp488

matslp488

    SS Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 141 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denver & RGV TX
  • Owns:SS
  • Color:Black
  • Year:2005
  • Drivetrain:2WD

Posted 02 February 2017 - 11:24 AM

Yes it has rear camera outputs... but again I haven't even looked for one to hook up
  • 0

#5 1981evildisco

1981evildisco

    SS Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 120 posts
  • Name:Frank
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdeen, MD
  • Owns:SS
  • Color:Black
  • Drivetrain:2WD

Posted 04 February 2017 - 08:47 AM

I used the factory nav Unit out of an 06 H2, plug and play all I had to do was have it reflashed at the dealer.
Although in order to have Bluetooth you'll need an adaptor, and there isn't a backup camera.
  • 0

#6 EXGM

EXGM

    *Elite SS Member*

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,044 posts
  • Name:Matt
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charlotte, NC
  • Owns:SS
  • Color:Victory Red
  • Year:2006
  • Drivetrain:2WD

Posted 04 February 2017 - 09:53 PM

I used the factory nav Unit out of an 06 H2, plug and play all I had to do was have it reflashed at the dealer.
Although in order to have Bluetooth you'll need an adaptor, and there isn't a backup camera.


They make an adapter for that too....
  • 0

#7 brett_p

brett_p

    SS Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Name:Brett
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chalmette, LA
  • Owns:SS
  • Color:Arrival Blue
  • Year:2004
  • Drivetrain:AWD

Posted 07 February 2017 - 09:17 AM

I used the factory nav Unit out of an 06 H2, plug and play all I had to do was have it reflashed at the dealer.Although in order to have Bluetooth you'll need an adaptor, and there isn't a backup camera.


Just curious what did that run you to have it reflashed?
  • 0

#8 1981evildisco

1981evildisco

    SS Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 120 posts
  • Name:Frank
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdeen, MD
  • Owns:SS
  • Color:Black
  • Drivetrain:2WD

Posted 11 February 2017 - 05:02 AM

Just curious what did that run you to have it reflashed?


$40 at the dealer and having to explain how to do it after the service advisor said "That reflashing the radio wasn't possible"

I told him to let me talk to a tech and after telling the tech what I wanted, he knew exactly what to do.
  • 0

#9 Distracted

Distracted

    SS Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 92 posts
  • Name:Alex
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Houston, TX
  • Owns:SS
  • Color:Black
  • Year:2006
  • Drivetrain:2WD

Posted 13 February 2017 - 10:57 PM

I installed today the Pioneer AVH4200 NEX works great with my android phone. Had to use a PAC adapter to tie it in with the factory bose stuff and a Sosche double din kit.


  • 0

#10 brett_p

brett_p

    SS Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Name:Brett
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chalmette, LA
  • Owns:SS
  • Color:Arrival Blue
  • Year:2004
  • Drivetrain:AWD

Posted 14 February 2017 - 01:05 PM

I installed today the Pioneer AVH4200 NEX works great with my android phone. Had to use a PAC adapter to tie it in with the factory bose stuff and a Sosche double din kit.


I was going to go with the avic4200 nex but from what I have read the maps aren't stored on the unit, there's something else you have to buy to view them all so I think I'm gonna end up going with the avic8200 nex. Do you have a part number or model number for the pac adapter you used?
  • 0

#11 Distracted

Distracted

    SS Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 92 posts
  • Name:Alex
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Houston, TX
  • Owns:SS
  • Color:Black
  • Year:2006
  • Drivetrain:2WD

Posted 14 February 2017 - 07:07 PM

I was going to go with the avic4200 nex but from what I have read the maps aren't stored on the unit, there's something else you have to buy to view them all so I think I'm gonna end up going with the avic8200 nex. Do you have a part number or model number for the pac adapter you used?

 
The 4200NEX has no navigation. Depending on your phone (Iphone or Android) it gets the info off of the phone. Look up the unit. I am more than pleased with the radio. It also was due to using an android phone that I was able to use a wireless Microsoft adapter and connect it to the HDMI connection on the radio. Everything that I can see on my phone I can now see it on the radio's screen.
 
I used the PAC RP5-GM11 which I got on [email protected] .

Edited by Distracted, 14 February 2017 - 10:30 PM.

  • 0

#12 1981evildisco

1981evildisco

    SS Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 120 posts
  • Name:Frank
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdeen, MD
  • Owns:SS
  • Color:Black
  • Drivetrain:2WD

Posted 04 March 2017 - 11:02 PM

Has anyone found an android radio for our trucks? My buddy bought one off alibaba for his E36 and it's awesome.
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users