Is It Time For A Cam Upgrade?

VeeMax

When I start my truck sometimes I here a lifter being a little lazy for a bit, it ticks for 15-20 seconds. So it sounds like it needs new lifters. If I do that I should go ahead and have a cam put in.

Is there a shop in the Dallas area that can do that for me? I don't think I want a dealership doing that for me.

I will try to get a video. Its so seldom it will be difficult. Piston slap? That sounds like an engine death sentence...:eek: Although it sounds like a lifter/ rocker tick to me, but I'm far from an expert.

I will try to get a video. Its so seldom it will be difficult. Piston slap? That sounds like an engine death sentence...:eek: Although it sounds like a lifter/ rocker tick to me, but I'm far from an expert.

Not really a death sentence, it is just a bit annoying that's all.........get a video if you can.....

That said, I know the NBS GM trucks (with AFM) have a problem with failing lifters.

But a V-Max doesn't have that feature, correct??

I do believe mine has the afm. Switching to V4?

I do believe mine has the afm. Switching to V4?

Yes, it should show "V4" up on the dash when u are coasting downhill, or along a flat stretch of road.

If so, throw in a fresh new set of new lifters and an oil change with a good oil filter....

:thumbsup:

Edited by Bad Bowtie (see edit history)

• 1 month later...

Update, I changed the oil to Mobil One and Mobil One filter and the seemingly lifter ticks at startup went away. Just thought I would share that.:pepsicheer:

That's great news, i would blame the oil filter for that, what filter brand did you use before the Mobil 1?

• 2 months later...

That's great news, i would blame the oil filter for that, what filter brand did you use before the Mobil 1?