How To Paint To Match Mirror Caps

gutierrezvho

This tutorial will demonstrate the method I used to paint my mirror caps. Hopefully this will be helpful to some of you VHO owners or SSS clones or anyone that is viewing this thread that doesnt have painted to match mirrors!

So since I own a VHO and not a SSS unfortunately my mirror caps did not come painted to match the truck. So just out of curiosity I decided to go pick up a set of mirrors from the salvage yard and paint them myself to see how well they would turn out. I am not a pro at the whole do it your self painting so please bare with me (not trying to saying this is the best method ever just demonstrating what worked for me).

Here are the materials you will need for the job.

1. Spray paint, or auto paint of your choice

2. Some sort of paintable primer

3. Clear coat

4. 120, 220, 300, 600 grit sand paper (this can very depending on the condition of the mirrors)

5. Mirror caps (covers whatever you may call them)

Here are the sprays I used (obviously not the exact sprays just a picture i found on the internet)

Dupli_Color_Auto_Spray_Clear_Top_Coat_8_oz_.jpg

Step 1: Okay so the first step (assuming you have the caps popped off of the mirrors) is to begin sanding the mirrors with the 120 grit sand paper to sort of remove all of the texture since I used a pair of chrome mirrors I had to remove the chrome finish. You might find that its hard to sand that off so I used a really sharp knife to just peel it off and it worked just fine for me. The sanding is pretty self explanatory so just use your own judgment!

Here is a picture of what the mirror should look like after the first step I compared it to the untouched chrome one just in case that is what you have.

100MEDIA_IMAG0180.jpg

Step 2: Once you are happy with the removal of the texture rinse all of the residue off with some warm water and a little dish soap.