Rear Drum To Disc Conversion

Hey guys, i'm a little new to the truck scene and was wondering if anyone here has done a drum to disc conversion. If so what company did you use and how are they working for you. Links and tips would be so helpful. Thanks in advance.

I am in the process of doing the same thing to my 06 SSS. I have a pair of the factory calipers and lines if you are interested. you just need to gather all the parts. it is a complete bolt on swap, if you have the parts.

You can use all factory parts, and you will need:

parking brake cables; axle brake lines from an axle with stock disks, the baking plate, the parking brake assembly, rotors, calipers and caliper mounting brakets. This also requieres opening the dif and pulling the axles out.

One note, its not bad but when you do drums to disk conversion, the axle clocks the calipers up 45*. Just make sure that the bleeder is the high point in the system. It might be easier to just buy and axle with stock disks. The good thing is that you can use any truck axle to do so, you don't need to get the exact same one as whats in your ride.

I am looking into also converting drum to disk. I"ve been asking around town and some one said I may need to change the master cylinder. Does anyone know if thats true.

So disc are better?

Depends, Disk perform better, but the parking brake assembly sucks, which is why GM went back to drums. Put it this way, what do you see braking all of the sport cars,

I am looking into also converting drum to disk. I"ve been asking around town and some one said I may need to change the master cylinder. Does anyone know if thats true.

No, but swaping out the proportioning valve isn't a bad Idea.

Also, the suburban, SSS, and the maybe the tahoe's use a thicker rear rotor with dual piston calipers VS. the regular silverado trucks that use a smaller rotor with single piston calipers in the rear