Mr. Clean AutoDry - ALTERNATIVE?

I have been using the Mr. Clean AutoDry system on my Black SS for about the last 10 washes and love it....BUT....it's kind a pain in the keester to use, and I think it uses way too much soap. :sigh:

I think the most critical part of the system is the filtered water rinse. I don't see why we couldn't just put a filter on our hose and use it for the final rinse. Is anyone doing this?

Google did a little research for me and came up with this filter, it claims: "to provide spot-free water for washing your car":

Garden Hose Filters Garden Hose Filters

Ray-->Always Looking For a Easier & Cheaper Way to Keep My Toy Clean! :P

Good idea Rays SS. :thumbs: You could probably put together a similar filter at home depot. The trick is finding the garden hose fittings for the filter housing. I haven't looked, but I'd guess you could find a suitable fitting.

Being a chemist by training and a process engineer by trade, I know a little about water treatment. I agree that the water-softening filter is the key to spot-free drying. A good car wash soap and a homemade water softening filter should provide results similar to the autodry system.

One point to note... the location of the filter and length of hose may affect performance. If you put the filter at the faucet and then a 50' hose to the driveway, it will take a little while for the filtered water to flush the hose out.

:cheers:

Good idea Rays SS.  :thumbs:  You could probably put together a similar filter at home depot.  The trick is finding the garden hose fittings for the filter housing.  I haven't looked, but I'd guess you could find a suitable fitting.

Being a chemist by training and a process engineer by trade, I know a little about water treatment.  I agree that the water-softening filter is the key to spot-free drying.  A good car wash soap and a homemade water softening filter should provide results similar to the autodry system.