How to raise rear seat?

ccc_23

• 1 month later...

ive seen guys do it w/ washers or shims... but i raised mine a full 2 inches which meant the existing bolts would be to short so i made a new mount out of 2" X2" X 1/8" steal tubing, im an architect so i probably over did it but here it is anyway...

cut and drilled the steal

BOX_BUILD013.jpg

welded grade 8 bolts in from the inside and now for a quick test fit

BOX_BUILD011.jpg

a lil, cold glavinized paint, primer, base n clear just for some temporary protection

BOX_BUILD010.jpg

BOX_BUILD009.jpg

i will be building a sub box for under the seat which will also hide the seat bracket so i wasnt to worried bout how it looks

i figured i would put this up as well since i raised the rear seat 2" this meant that the hooks in the back of the seat didnt catch and the seat wouldnt stay up... so here ya go for any one who is interested

i have to extend the hooks on the back of the seat to catch the rings on the rear wall

BOX_BUILD002.jpg

i used ca glue to tack in place so i could check for fitment

BOX_BUILD001.jpg

some strong shit, easily pick up the seat by the glued end

BOX_BUILD014.jpg

welded the tabs... yeah i know i cant weld for shit (yet...)

BOX_BUILD012.jpg

Edited by SYSTEM-OH-SS (see edit history)

installed

BOX_BUILD004.jpg

i made the hooks just long enough to latch when upright, but still able to fold down, i got this idea from some one on here who adjusted by cutting the tabs on a stock height seat

BOX_BUILD003.jpg

still have head room, im 6'-1" and there is about 2" still... ne one taller can either ride in the bed or walk... lololol

BOX_BUILD008.jpg

BOX_BUILD007.jpg

not too bad for a sawzall, a $30 drill press, and a $60 wire welder w/ a friction drive that wouldnt feed steadily

any way should be movin onto mdf n fiberglass soon...

any suggestions on a decent inexpensive welder would be appreciated

• 2 weeks later...
  • 7 months later...