'04 SS Silverado KB or Magna Charger

ChargedSS

Judd over at Magnacharger swears that I will pick up 100-120 rear wheel horse power and the Kenne Bell Tech swears that I will have at least 480HP at the fly wheel. SO COONNFFUUUSSSEEED! My intention is to have this as a daily driver, I live in Southern California with the heat, I would love to run low 13's if possible. My thoughts are LS1 Edit on the computer, Super Charged and Headers/Exhaust. Any Thoughts?

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply
If its a daily driver and you don't want the boost at cruz do not go with the kennybell but the radix is not a good choice as well lots of discharge heat!!Vortech or paxton would be a good choice  :thumbs:

why do you say, Do not go with the Kenne Bell? I understand the twin Screw puts down some pretty serious power even below 2000RPM with minimal boost and minimal heat, while the eaton roots needs intercooling for removing heat and tons of boost to even try to keep up?

Please explain.

thanks

The KB and the Radix may put out similar numbers on the dyno, but remember, the downside of not having an intercooler shows up when the weather gets hot. You can be sure the both manufactures do their dyno testing on cool days. There is no getting around the fact that hot weather will affect your power on a Forced Induction engine. That is a point in favor of Nitrous. I think the Radix intercooler helps to mitigate the heat problem, but it is still there, just as it is with the Whipple or the Kenne Bell. It just seems that as the temps go up, the Whipple and Kenne Bell suffer more. Ask BigTex about how his Whipple worked in the Texas heat. I live in SoCal too, and while the heat does take it’s toll on the performance, it does not get rid of it. My Radix is still fun to drive in the summer.

I am guessing that I am making between 470-510 Flywheel HP (based on ¼ mile times, and torque readings from the on board computer). And there is still more to be had by tweaking the computer.