454LSX Build

amscholtz@comcast.net

So most of the internals of my engine are trashed, my mechanic suspects it was built wrong and not broke in correctly since it only had 8,000 miles on it. I will know later today if we need to machine the block and get new pistons but so far here is what I know is still usable.

Pistons (provided block can be reused as is)

Ported West Coast Racing L92 heads

H-Beam Rods

7.4 push rods

The cam has a big chunk out of it, the rockers are toast, the lifters need replacing with the rockers.

I am very new to all of this stuff so I am requesting help from all of you. I know the cam choice dictates the rest of it, and I have done a bit of research on the other parts so far. I am hoping you guys can help me pick out the right stuff so this won't happen again. I am looking for a very reliable street setup, hp numbers don't matter but more is always better of course. Budget is a concern but I am willing to spend more for better stuff if it will make a huge difference provided it's still reliable. I have all the supporting mods for the LSX already installed, including a huge radiator, fuel lines and pump, ect. Please let me know what other specs and parts you would need are on the truck to know how to answer this fully.

Thanks everyone for the support, this site has always answered the questions I have had about the two SS trucks I have owned, it has been incredibly helpful to have you guys available.

• Replies 110
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic